The Great Name Debate

Scripture Reference:                                                                                                         Psalm 68:4; Exodus 3:14,15; Jeremiah 23:27; John 17:5-10; Hebrews 11:6; Exodus 2:23-25; Matthew 15:13

I was praying a couple of days ago, and afterwards I heard a spirit say “but who are you praying to.” I thought that I was of course praying to the Most High, the Creator, the King of Heaven. However, the comment indicated to me that I must take another look into the scriptures to nail down what our King wants to be called. What is His name?

This blog is not only supposed to be a source of spiritual food, but it is also a documentation of my own spiritual journey back to the Father’s presence. Subsequently, I want the information on the site to be truthful and pure.

That said- I used to call the Most High by the pagan titles of lord and god, but when I received the truth that these were titles used for baal I forsook those terms. I then searched and found that Yah or Jah was in the scriptures (see Psalm 68:4) and that it was supposed to be a shortened form of Yahweh or Yehovah. A further look into certain translations resulted in the belief that the ancient Hebrews called Him Yahuah. This is why I inwardly groaned when I heard what the spirit told me. I knew it was not enough to just hear from Him and be used by Him; I needed to embrace the truth about His name.

The I AM That I AM Sent Moses

Before hearing that message in the spirit, I had heard an internet podcast from a group that called the Most High’s name’s Ahayah Asher Ahayah. However, I did not look into that piece of new information immediately because I figured that it was just another title for our Creator. But there is one important thing that I have learned while on my spiritual journey. If I reject truth when it is presented to me, the Most High usually witholds higher levels of truth from me until I align with the commands in his Word. In other words, I cannot skip any steps. I want to progress in Him, and I’m sure that you want to as well.

The name that the Most High wants to be called and known by throughout the generations is I Am That I Am. Yes, it’s that simple. It’s the name that He gave to Moses before He brought the children of Israel out of Egypt. Here’s the scriptural proof…

And God said unto Moses, I AM THAT I AM: and he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I AM hath sent me unto you. And God said moreover unto Moses, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, The LORD God of your fathers, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob, hath sent me unto you: this is my name for ever, and this is my memorial unto all generations. Exodus 3:14,15

You already know that through translation manipulations the terms God and Lord were placed within the scriptures. We were warned in Jeremiah 23:27 that the Hebrews would forget the Most High’s name and replace it with names for baal. There is good indication that the popular names for the Most High like Yahweh, Jehovah and even Yahuah may have been replacements for the actual name of our Creator. However, we cannot go wrong if we call Him by the name that He said to call Him in the Word; it’s a matter of obedience.        

The Prophet Like Moses Manifested The Name To His Disciples

There is also indication in the gospels that by the time that the Master Yahushua (as I currently call him…for now!) started his earthly ministry the name of the Most High had already been obscured. In John 17: 6, the Master was praying to the Father and told Him that He had manifested the Most High’s name to the men given to Him to be His disciples. Why would He have to declare the name of the Most High to native Israelites if the name had been preserved accurately through their captivity in Babylon? Check it out in context…

And now, O Father, glorify thou me with thine own self with the glory which I had with thee before the world was.   I have manifested thy name unto the men which thou gavest me out of the world: thine they were, and thou gavest them me; and they have kept thy word.   Now they have known that all things whatsoever thou hast given me are of thee.   For I have given unto them the words which thou gavest me; and they have received them, and have known surely that I came out from thee, and they have believed that thou didst send me.   I pray for them: I pray not for the world, but for them which thou hast given me; for they are thine. John 17:5-10    

I believe that modern day disciples must embrace the truth about the Creator’s name just as the original 12 disciples walked in that truth.

Early Church Remembers The Great I AM

It appears that the original 12 disciples spread the good news that they were taught far and wide, and early church disciples must have also understood the Most High’s name. The writer of Hebrews wrote…

“But without faith it is impossible to please him: for he that cometh to God must believe that he is, and that he is a rewarder of them that diligently seek him.” Hebrews 11:6

Believing that the Most High “is” affirms that He is the Existing One or the I AM That I AM.

How Well Do You Know A Person

Well, that ends the great name debate… for me anyway. No more going back and forth between names that are used because they are a part of the traditions of men. Many people can question if you really know a person if you do not know or acknowledge their real name. I believe that intimate knowledge of the Most High has to involve knowing and using the name that He wanted His people to call Him during the time that the covenant was established.

Of course, the Hebrews knew the Most High before Moses led them out of slavery. The scriptures in Exodus 2:23-25 state that the Israelites were crying out for help because of their bitter bondage; to whom were they crying? They knew about the Eloha of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob; some may have even called Him the Mighty One of Jacob. However, they did not have intimate knowledge of Him until after they received His name and saw His miracles for themselves.

Other References About The Most High’s Name

Let me just give one caveat before I send you to these sites as references… I do not endorse anybody’s personal ministries or little kingdoms that they have established for themselves. I know that every plant that the Father did not plant will be uprooted (Matthew 15:13). I only glean the truth and praise the Father for allowing His servants to be shown truths and to publish them freely.

That said, the blog entitled Ahayah Yashiya explains how the name was obscured and replaced by pagan titles and names.

The Gathering of Christ Church also has extensive You Tube teachings on the subject.  

The Hebrews for Christians website also points out the name that the Most High gave to Moses to be a derivative of Ahayah which is “ehyeh-asher-ehyeh.”

Shalom!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Great Name Debate

  1. matthew the least says:

    Excellent brief post brother,
    HalleluYAH!!

Leave a Reply

